The Gem Saloon, c. 1880 West Side of Courthouse Square, Bloomington
Peter J. Neuerburg (note the name on the cornice) owned The Gem from the late 1870s into the early 1880s. He is likely one of the unidentified gentlemen posing out front. Then Gem was located at 204 N. Center St., on the west side of the Courthouse (now Museum) Square.
In October 1882, Neuerburg sold the saloon to Charley Homan. By the early 1890s, the proprietor was Tony Meyer. This building and the ones to right and left were torn down in 1976-1977 and replaced with the three-story Snyder Building that still stands today at the northwest corner of Center and Washington streets.