200 North Main Street | Bloomington, Illinois | 309-827-0428

#1950s

Written by Bill Kemp in Historic Photos

McLean County Fair, 1951

Aerial view of the McLean County fair, 1951.

From 1935 to 1955 (with one exception) the McLean County 4-H Fair was held at Fans Field, an old minor league ballpark on Bloomington’s south side, off Main Street and behind (or east) of the National Guard Armory.

Read more…

Written by Bill Kemp in

And the rockets' red glare … Independence Day, Miller Park, 1957

Fourth of July fireworks at Bloomington’s Miller Park

Fourth of July fireworks at Bloomington’s Miller Park have been a local holiday tradition for several generations...

Read more…

Written by Bill Kemp in

What a View!

Dome of the McLean County Courthouse- Currently McLean County Museum of History

The McLean County Museum of History occupies the old county courthouse in historic downtown Bloomington. The Museum’s photo collections include many fabulous photographs of the old courthouse’s prior life as the center of county government.

Read more…

Written by Bill Kemp in Collection Highlights

Slitherin’ no more Mystery Pic, 1958

This fascinating photograph is a mystery to Museum staff. The only thing we’re sure about is that it was taken on June 30, 1958.

Read more…

Written by Bill Kemp in Historic Photos

Slitherin’ no more Mystery Pic, 1958

Large snake, 1958.

This fascinating photograph is a mystery to Museum staff. The only things we’re sure about is that it was taken on June 30, 1958 and that the snake is a Bullsnake (now called Gophersnake). We do not know the who, where, or why.

Read more…

Written by Bill Kemp in Historic Photos

Mothers of Fallen Soldiers Memorial Day 1958

Memorial Day, 1958.

Founded after World War I, American Gold Star Mothers consists of mothers who have lost a son or daughter to military service. Seen here are local Gold Star members from the Evergreen chapter in Bloomington.

Read more…

Written by Bill Kemp in Historic Photos

Photo of the Week, 117: ISSCS Graduates, 1958

Illinois Soldiers’ and Sailors’ Children’s School.  Dixie Chambers. Jack Cummings, Judy Harvey, Dick Peifer, and Betty Jo Naseef; back row (left to right), Bill Marrs, Leroy Witte, Joe Menton, Don Peterson, Richard Yeager, and Ronald Whitney. Menton was the U-High homecoming king.

Normal was the longtime home to the state-run orphanage known as the Illinois Soldiers’ and Sailors’ Children’s School. “Home Kids” (as they often called themselves) attended University High School, Normal IL on the Illinois State University campus (or, Illinois State Normal University, as it was known at the time).

Read more…

Written by Bill Kemp in Historic Photos

Photo of the Week: ISSCS Graduates, 1958

ISSCS graduates, 1958.

Normal was the longtime home to the state-run orphanage known as the Illinois Soldiers’ and Sailors’ Children’s School. “Home Kids” (as they often called themselves) attended University High School, Normal IL on the Illinois State University campus.

Read more…

Written by Bill Kemp in Historic Photos

Photo of the Week, 109: American Passion Play, March 1956

American Passion Play, March 1956

Conceived by Bloomington resident Delmar Darrah, this local production of the American Passion Play is the oldest continuously performed Passion Play in the United States.

Read more…

Written by Bill Kemp in Historic Photos

Photo of the Week, 107: Marjorie Wikoff: "Lady Cabbie" in 1957

Marjorie Wikoff:

Marjorie Wikoff, a licensed practical nurse, turned to cab driving in 1957 because there wasn't enough local nursing work to pay the bills. Read more...

Read more…